Zoku Watermelon

Zoku Watermelon

Why can’t I ever follow the directions? I spent a long time figuring out how to make these watermelon popsicles, but I just couldn’t bring home a watermelon and cut it up myself. That is a man’s work: the melon is so heavy, and the knife is so huge! So I tried to make my life easier by using watermelon flavored pudding.

Let me back up: There is a recipe in the Quick Pops book for watermelon pops that includes real fruit, pureed or whatever. I couldn’t bother with that, so I switched to the recipe for creamsicles. This is the filling to use when making a pop with a core of cream and an outer shell of juice:

4 oz. vanilla pudding
1/4 cup half & half
1/4 cup 2% milk
1 Tbsp + 1 tsp sweetened condensed milk
2 tsp sugar
1 1/2 tsp fresh lemon juice
1/2 tsp vanilla

Okay, so I have made cream core with this, skipping the vanilla extract and the lemon juice. I also think I used 1/2 cup half & half instead of including milk because we were short on milk that night, and I thought I might as well use up the half & half. It turned out okay, but I didn’t realize how much flavor had been borrowed from the cranberry shell on the outside.

For these watermelon pops I made two batches of the above, but used watermelon flavored pudding for one batch. This pudding is found in the baking aisle — it doesn’t need refrigeration, and I was so surprised to find it there. Notice that they also have key lime pudding, which would also make a great pop.

The watermelon lost a lot of color when the half & half was mixed in. I also added some mini-chocolate chips for the seeds. The accessory kit has a tool to stick the seeds to the side of the pop, and that works much better than the few seeds I stirred in because they all congregated next to the stick, and so they don’t even look like seeds anymore.

The other portion I made with vanilla pudding, and added green food coloring to half of it.

The first layer: it’s important not to pour too much, or else there won’t be room for the two layers of rind. I left it in for 7 minutes, for all three pops. Then the white layer — another 7 minutes. Then the green layer, another 7 minutes. By that time, I think the maker is probably done. I wouldn’t attempt another set until it has time in the freezer again.

They tasted nice, but it was very mellow, not at all watermelony, actually. I think they needed more tang. I wonder if the lemon juice is really important? Or maybe next time I will use guava nectar. At least it will look more like watermelon, even if the taste is not quite right.

We ate them and enjoyed them. Oh, and the baby didn’t really eat one, even if he looks like he’s going to.

Comments
One Response to “Zoku Watermelon”
  1. Well it may not have tasted like watermelon, but it sure looks cute! 🙂

    Maybe you could splurge and buy some pre-cut watermelon next time to test the flavor difference? Sure it’s pricey, but much less heavy and no giant knife required! Or you could just make DH do it for you. lol

Leave a Reply

