Hot for Chili


It was so hot today. Welcome to LA in the summertime, in an old house that doesn’t have a/c. At least we have fans in every room of the house.

Today was crock-pot day — and I’m aiming to have a crock pot day every week, along with one day for pasta and one day for sandwich-ish things.

The chili recipe came from a supermarket cookbook, the small kind that can be torn into file-box recipe cards, Taste of Home. It’s a lot of ingredients, but only 4 hours to make, not counting stove top time:

2 pounds ground beef (I bet turkey would be fine, too)
2 cans kidney beans
2 cans pinto beans
2 cans black beans
2 cans corn
2 cans diced tomatoes — one with chilis
2 packets ranch dressing seasoning
2 packets taco seasoning
2 small cans V-8 equalling 11.5 oz.
1 medium onion

Lucky for me, the Cooking Guru was visiting, and she offered to cut the onion (!!!) which is always a tragedy for me, even with my safety goggles on. Then the baby started crying, so she browned the beef while I fed the baby, and the older kids played in the yard.

I rinsed the beans, drained the corn, and mixed them with the packets. Then we poured in the beef. It filled the large crock pot! Like I said, it is a lot of ingredients. I cooked it on low for 4 hours.

An honest note here, that I forgot to put in the tomato juice until halfway through. Still turned out great.

We served it with grated cheese on top, and some cornbread: Marie Callender cornbread only needed water and 30 minutes to bake. So yummy!

This was a fantastic recipe that builds my confidence. Usually I am shy about crock pot meals that require stove-top work before putting into the crock, mainly because I am so short of time in the morning, but as I am off of work for the summer, this wasn’t an issue. Also, I think it would be hard to make this recipe if I was at work because it only cooks for 4 hours. Would I want it to sit there, half warm, for another 4 hours until I came home? Not really. So maybe I would save this recipe for a weekend. I am willing to bet it will taste better on the second day.

Comments
One Response to “Hot for Chili”
  1. That picture is literally making me drool. What was I thinking eating cold cereal for dinner when I could have had chili!?

Leave a Reply

